TCT’s Hollywood Interview #25

…with Clive Lane

The Cartesian Theatre now welcomes guests from around the worldosphere, with an invitation to tell us all about themselves – in 25 words or less. Okay, okay, it’s not as bad as all that: they get 25 words per answer. They can wax lyrical if they want, but beware: I edit with an axe…

HollywoodInteview
This week, let’s give a big hand to Clive Lane, part of a talented, hands-on, multi-cultural group of film makers working out of Madrid, Spain.

Hi, Clive, tell us “all” about yourself.

I write for, perform in and co-produce short films for the Wicked Tongues label. I also write short plays.

Okay, now tell us “all” about Wicked Tongues – what’s going on there?

We’re making short comedy films, with an international flavour, taking a dark and unsentimental look at modern life.

What made you start Wicked Tongues in particular?

I asked my diary three years ago what would make me happy and I came up with film-making. It does!

Okay then, pitch us the story of one of your short films.

Mechanical: a comedy where two hipsters break up but decide to have sex one last time – no Barry White, just a cold, itch-scratching encounter, only—

TOO LONG, CLIVE! Too long! Is this how it ends?

What is the most inspirational thing you’ve ever read – and why?

I think Impro by Keith Johnstone was written for drama teachers, but it’s an entertaining look at story-telling, creativity and human behaviour.

If you could say anything at all to your personal hero, what would it be?

I struggle to think of a personal hero, but I want to know what makes people bad/mad/sad, and how they accommodate their demons.

What are you most proud of in your life outside of Wicked Tongues?

I’m also a teacher and used to think I’d under-achieved. Now I appreciate how it has changed me, made me less selfish and more grounded.

What is the thing you would most like to do with your life – but don’t dare?

I’d enjoy the human test of politics. The best ones try to combine leadership qualities, with personal principles and day to day pragmatism. Nearly impossible!

So what are your actual plans for the future – all of it?

I have written a full length screenplay with my co-writer, Miriam Foley. I want to make it, and for it to be successful. Easy, right?

Okay, my thanks to Clive for not buckling under the pressure (apart from when he got too into that bad sex…)! You can find out more about Wicked Tongues from their site, and maybe he’ll come back again one day, more under relaxed circumstances…

Click the pic to check out the
other Hollywood Interviews!HollywoodInteview

OFF-TOPIC: you may not know this, but your charming host is in the midst of a Kickstarter campaign right now — he’s the editor of ECOTONES, a great anthology of ecological fantasy and science fiction. Check out our site and the campaign page if you’d like to know more…

Leave a Reply

