TCT’s Hollywood Interview #22

…with Nicola Prentis

The Cartesian Theatre now welcomes guests from around the worldosphere, with an invitation to tell us all about themselves – in 25 words or less. Okay, okay, it’s not as bad as all that: they get 25 words per answer. They can wax lyrical if they want, but beware: I edit with an axe…

HollywoodInteview
This week, let’s give a big hand to Nicola Prentis, amongst other things a romance writer who spends her life juggling dressing up, food-play, spankings– tsk, well, that’s new mums for you

Hi, Nicola, tell us “all” about yourself.

Single-minded, double-identity, triple-genre author based in two cities, Madrid and London. Where to have the therapy though?

What is the most inspirational thing you’ve ever read – and why?

Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller – because the writing is better than I could ever hope to produce, which is inspiring even if it sounds defeatist.

What was your first published work?

A restaurant review of a vegetarian place in Turkey for Time Out Istanbul. I then became their restaurant critic and food writer.

What is the best thing you’ve never had published?

I self-published a parody called Fifty Shades of Shite, does that count? Written for fun, but I wish it had been read more widely!

What are you most proud of – in your life, not just your writing?

If you take writing out, I’m not sure… I changed my bike tyre in 2005. It took me 45 very angry minutes and a teaspoon!

“Says the new parent”… well, take a break from emotionally scarring your infant and tell us about your latest work – novel, short story, shopping list, whatever.

Love Lessons: EFL teacher falls for her sexy student in Rome. Not autobiographical I’m afraid! I’ve never been to Rome nor had a student as—

Well, that’s one holiday romance cut short…

Pitch us your unwritten masterpiece – you’re in the Hollywood elevator now…

What if there was a weight loss group to help lose the heaviest excess you’re carrying around – your ex? Working title: Exes are like Tumours.

How about “Ex is Baggage“? So, if only one person was to ever read your work – who would you want it to be?

My boyfriend, because he used to read everything I wrote. I wish he still did…

What are your plans for the future – all of it?

All my future babies will be books (except for the one more actual baby I’d love to have). Next are two self-help style books.

Okay, my thanks to Nicola for taking a break from changing nappies and getting no sleep! You can find out more about this incarnation of her writing career at her blog, Simple English, and maybe she’ll come back again one day, more under relaxed circumstances…

Click the pic to check out the
other Hollywood Interviews!HollywoodInteview
Leave a Reply

