Once Upon a Time…

Are you sitting comfortably?

Then I’ll begin:

Once Upon a Time, apparently every year, readers who also blog come together to celebrate fantastical fiction. From March to June, they review books, short stories, films and even games that fall into four categories: Fairytale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology. Exactly what works they choose, and how they define their relation to those four types, is left to the whims of each reviewer. The current project is called Once Upon a Time IXSounds like fun, I thought.

I used to review books and films fairly regularly, but I’ve fallen out of the habit in recent years so I thought I’d jump back on the wagon (or “fall off it again”, I’m not sure if I’m metaphoring correctly) and bite off way more than I can chew (mixing them I can do) by attempting reviews of all four categories and all four mediums.

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be posting at least two reviews a week. On Thursdays, I’ll be reviewing novels or novellas, one from each of the genre categories. On Sundays, I’ll look at a short story which attempts to reinvent a different fairy tale. In the middle of all that, I’ll take a break from reading to review four examples of uniquely mythic video game storytelling, and round it all off with a film review of the 1935 star-studded classic, A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I hope you’ll stop by, read the reviews and let me know what you think!


Full Disclosure: I’m also doing this by way of self-promotion, since I’ve got put bunch of ebooks out this year — one of them just last week! If you like these reviews, why not check them out?

Leave a Reply

