TCT’s Hollywood Interview #12

…with Chris Pavesic

The Cartesian Theatre now welcomes guests from around the worldosphere, with an invitation to tell us all about themselves – in 25 words or less. Okay, okay, it’s not as bad as all that: they get 25 words per answer. They can wax lyrical if they want, but beware: I edit with an axe…

HollywoodInteview

This week, let’s give a big hand to Chris Pavesic, the most recent convert to the Church of the Darkside Codex

Hi, Chris, tell us “all” about yourself.

I am a writer, reader, gamer, gardener, and coffee aficionado. I have planted over 2000 trees and driven a boat over 120 mph.

Presumably not at the same time… what is the most inspirational thing you’ve ever read – and why?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – because after reading his novel, I realized other people shared my sense of humour. I knew I wanted to earn my living as a writer.

What was your first published work?

My first published work was Sarah’s Story for a local zine called The Troubadour’s Lantern. My first professional sale, Going Home, was to Penumbra Magazine, now sadly gone.

What is the best thing you’ve never had published?

My autobiography — somehow I keep adding chapters.

What are you most proud of – in your life, not just your writing?

I taught myself to juggle by reading a “how-to” book.

Tell us about your latest work – novel, short story, shopping list, whatever.

The Caelimane Operation is part of the Darkside Codex novels from Musa Publishing. It’s a mixture of steampunk, magic, the undead, and political intrigue.

Pitch us your unwritten masterpiece – you’re in the Hollywood elevator now…

What if a group of youngsters develop deadly superpowers and the only person who can save them is a retired superhero who relinquished his powers?

If only one person was to ever read your work – who would you want it to be?

My grandfather, because he was always supportive of my education and enjoyed my writing. He passed away before I had anything published.

I write under my grandfather’s surname for similar reasons. So, what are your plans for the future – all of it?

Move to a warmer climate so I never again have to shovel snow taller than me (I shouldn’t have answered this during the winter)!

Okay, my thanks to Chris for not buckling under the pressure! You can find out more about her writing on her blog, and maybe she’ll come back again one day, more under relaxed circumstances…

Click the pic to check out the
other Hollywood Interviews!HollywoodInteview
2 thoughts on “TCT’s Hollywood Interview #12

  1. Pingback: Farewell, Musa |

Leave a Reply

