Mid-Weak Writing Special: “Don’t do The Mime if you can’t do the Time” – Part One

"Keyboard and Cress", by wetwebwork on Flickr (CC BY-SA 2.0)Every Wednesday from now until the end of the world, or the blog, I’m going to post a random bit of writing: a rhyme, something from an old folder or a work in progress, or if all else fails whatever random thing I scribbled down during the free-write warm up of my Tuesday Night Writers Club."Keyboard and Cress", by wetwebwork on Flickr (CC BY-SA 2.0)

‘Tis the season of either dewy-eyed generosity or blind, filthy greed, depending on your level of cynicism (and, if you’re mired in the past, maybe there’s a minor religious aspect to it too). 

So here’s my gift to you: first in a series of five drabbles – 100 word “stories” – which in this case will add up to so much more…

MIME GAMES

Just tell me where Jones is,” I say, “and you can go home as far as I’m concerned.”

“That’s Mr. Mime to you,” growls Left Goon. I shake my head. Give a crook face-paint, he’ll play games.

Right Goon giggles. “He’s behind one of these doors.”

Sigh. “Right, and one of you always tells the truth.” They nod, grinning.

I’m beyond tired of this nonsense. I pull my piece, open fire.

Both die slumped up against the wall. Weird. In my experience, with two guys and two doors, at least one of them always lies.

…tune in tomorrow for more!

2 thoughts on “Mid-Weak Writing Special: “Don’t do The Mime if you can’t do the Time” – Part One

Leave a Reply

