TCT’s Hollywood Interview #5

…with Milo James Fowler

The Cartesian Theatre now welcomes guests from around the worldosphere, with an invitation to tell us all about themselves – in 25 words or less. Okay, okay, it’s not as bad as all that: they get 25 words per answer. They can wax lyrical if they want, but beware: I edit with an axe…

HollywoodInteview

Still no theme music, I’m afraid – until that changes, just hum the theme to Starsky & Hutch and imagine the future glory.

This week, let’s give a big hand to Milo James Fowler, a spec-fic author who is also a co-founder of the remarkably successful submission motivator site Write1Sub1.

Hi, Milo, tell us “all” about yourself.

I’m a teacher by day, speculative fictioneer by night. When I’m not grading papers, I’m imagining what life is like in a dozen alternate realities.

What is the most inspirational thing you’ve ever read – and why?

God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew – because miracles, man. Miracles.

I’ll believe one when I see one… What was your first published work?

Hero for Hire, published by A Fly in Amber (2010) – armed with a katana purchased on eBay, Darrel rights wrongs he perceives in his neighborhood…

I’ll let the American spelling there slide… What is the best thing you’ve never had published?

My novel Westward, Tally Ho! has been rejected by over 100 agents and is still out making the rounds.

What are you most proud of – in your life, not just your writing?

Teaching 5th, 7th, and 8th graders for the past 15 years without losing my mind.

I take it back: a miracle! Tell us about your latest work – novel, short story, shopping list, whatever.

Yakuza Territory, a future noir novella, will be available from Musa Publishing 11/7. Think Die Hard meets Assault on Precinct 13 with a killer robot.

Pitch us your unwritten masterpiece – you’re in the Hollywood elevator now…

What if purple cows with laser guns took over the United States and forced all Americans to give up steak? “Well Done” – coming soon!

If only one person was to ever read your work – who would you want it to be?

Ray Bradbury – because he’s inspired me to be the best dang writer I can be.

What are your plans for the future – all of it?

I plan to write full-time and teach creative writing part-time; reading my students’ stories is one of the best parts of my job.

Okay, my thanks to Milo for not buckling under the pressure! You can find out more about him at his blog, and maybe he’ll come back again one day, more under relaxed circumstances…

Click the pic to check out the
other Hollywood Interviews!HollywoodInteview
4 thoughts on “TCT’s Hollywood Interview #5

  1. Pingback: Milo James Fowler

Leave a Reply

